## STEWARDSHIP CENTRE FOR BC



## Stewardship Centre for BC Annual General Meeting Minutes December 1, 2020

DATE:

December 1 2020

**VENUE:** 

Zoom & Conference

Call

**DURATION:** 

11:00 AM -12:05PM

**CHAIR:** 

Christine Callihoo &

Joanne Day

**RECORDER:** 

DG Blair

**APPROVED:** 

Participants: Peter Abrams, Cathy Armstrong, Anique Baillon, Tamsin Baker, Laurie Bates-Frymel, Cheryl Berard, Jennifer Beverley, Jacqueline Bird, Tracy Bond, Greta Borick-Cunningham, Jennifer Brooks, Jenna Buchko, Christine Callihoo, Sarah Carlson, James Casey, Maya Charnell, Joan Chess, Lisa Christensen, Emily Cook, Tara Culham, Brianne Czypyha, John DeGagne, Carolyn DeJong, Mike DesRochers, Dale Desrochers, Suzanne Earle, Sheri Ellenberger, Lea Elliott, Sophie Fillion, Warren Fleenor, Karl Fultz, Douglas Gook, David Grigg, Ken Gurr, Habtamu Haile Tolera, Gretchen Harlow, Lee Johnson, Christy Juteau, Ann Klein, Rob Knight, Gerry Leering, CaroleAnn Leishman, grace lewis, Jenny Lotz, Tamsin Lyle, Keyvan Mahlujy, Rick Marshall, Liane McKenna, Robert Meachen, Michelle Meier, Jian Ming, Tomoki Mita, Anindita Mitra, David Munday, Erika Nassichuk, Midori Nicolson, Phil Osborne, Jennifer Pierce, Caitlin Pierzchalski, Dannie Piezas, Adriane Pollard, Danielle Prevost, Harshan Radhakrishnan, Jocelyn Ramsey, Erin Renwick, Harriet Rueggeberg, Mayta Ryn, Tara Schaufele, Kelly Schnare, Nancy Shackelford, Sean Sharpe, Alexa Sigmund, Jacques Sirois, Mariel Swann, Aleesha Switzer, Thomas Thain Megan Turnock, Megan Walker, Hillary Williamson, Ian Winn, David Zandvliet, Pamela Zevit

Staff: DG Blair, Lonnie Prouse, Anna Skurikhina, Sierra Rae

TOPIC	SCOPE OF DISCUSSION	DECISION OR ACTION
1. Welcome, Introductions and Review of Agenda & minutes	<ul> <li>Joanne Day, SCBC Co-Chair, provided opening remarks &amp; thanks to all for attending via conference call and Zoom; Christine Callihoo, SCBC Co-Chair, provided a land acknowledgement</li> <li>Agenda – no changes to agenda</li> <li>Minutes – no changes to previous minutes</li> </ul>	<b>DECISION</b> : Motion to approve the Agenda: moved by Midori Nicolson, seconded by Tracy Bond. <b>Carried.</b>



## STEWARDSHIP CENTRE FOR BC

TOPIC	SCOPE OF DISCUSSION	DECISION OR ACTION
		<b>DECISION</b> : Motion to approve the minutes of December 4, 2019; moved by Joan Chess seconded by Tracy Bond. <b>Carried</b> .
2. Business Arising from minutes	There was no business arising from the 2019 minutes	
3. Financial Report:	<ul> <li>SCBC's Secretary/Treasurer, Tracy Bond, provided the annual Financial Report:         <ul> <li>SCBC had another successful year for the fiscal year April 1, 2019 to March 31, 2020</li> <li>Financial Statement format is designed with the Gaming Fund separated out to meet the BC Community Gaming Grant guidelines</li> <li>Revenue was consistent with the 2018/2019 statements</li> <li>SCBC received grants from the federal government, the BC Provincial and foundations, along with contracts from Local Governments and other organizations. This year we increased our funding from foundations</li> <li>All of our spending is within budgets and under contracts</li> <li>Although these statements do not reflect in-kind contributions, we would like to highlight that 34% of our support is in-kind.</li> <li>We would like to extend a thank you to all of supporters for another successful year – we recognize the importance of our partner volunteers to the success of SCBC</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	DECISION: Motion to accept the Financial Report as presented Tracy Bond; moved by Phil Osborne seconded by Christine Callihoo. Carried.
5. Election of Directors	<ul> <li>SCBC Co-Chair, Christine Callihoo, thanked Joanne Day, Mike DesRochers, Nancy Shackelford and Midori Nicolson, for all their efforts on behalf of SCBC over the past terms.</li> <li>The SCBC Board Development Committee recommends the following candidates be elected to the Board: Suzanne Earle, Haile Tolera.</li> </ul>	Motion: to democratically elect Suzanne Earle and Haile Tolera to the SCBC Board of Directors moved by Tracy Bond, seconded by Joan Chess.



## STEWARDSHIP CENTRE FOR BC

TOPIC	SCOPE OF DISCUSSION	DECISION OR ACTION
	Suzanne Earle and Haile Tolera have been unanimously nominated to serve on the SCBC Board for 3-year terms.	DECISION: Christine Callihoo then called the vote: all those in favour to democratically elect: Suzanne Earle Haile Tolera In Favour: All Opposed: none; Carried
6. Other Business	The AGM featured three speakers who shared insights in a panel discussion titled: Biodiversity, Green Infrastructure and Climate Change: a practitioner's perspective. Speakers:  Christine Callihoo, MSc, RPP, MCIP Tamsin Lyle, M.Eng, MRM, P.ENG James Casey, Conservation Lead  Followed by Discussion and Q & A	
Meeting Adjourned	SCBC Executive Director, DG Blair, thanked the Panel speakers  On behalf of the SCBC Board, Joanne Day extended a huge THANK YOU to all participants and speakers.  The meeting was adjourned at 12:05 pm	DECISION: Motion to adjourn; moved by Tracy Bond; Carried